Holiday Blues Already

Can I tell you how much I am dreading December?

My life is going to be full of nothing but rehearsals, shows and rehearsals for the next three weeks. You read that right, folks. THREE weeks. And somewhere in the middle of all that madness I have to clean my apartment, buy a Christmas tree, decorate it and my apartment, and buy groceries for my annual holiday party (December 17 if you are in the area). And meanwhile continue to go to work, rehearsals, shows and more rehearsals.

Are you exhausted yet? I am already! 🙂

Here’s a rundown of my schedule for the next three weeks. If you see a moment where I can shop for an overpriced Christmas Tree before December 17, just let me know.

Monday, November 29
Work 11:30 – 8:00 PM.

OK I could probably try to find a tree after work, but that means taking the train all the way home, grabbing the car, driving to a tree place (hoping I find the hunky lumberjack guy that’s sold me the last three trees I’ve bought in Chicago… Woof!) and then getting the thing home, up 3 flights of stairs, drag out all the Christmas crap, find the stand, plop the tree in the stand, water it, and maybe start decorating it if it’s not already past 3am by that point.

Yeah.. maybe not…

Tuesday, November 30
Work 9:30 – 6:00
Rehearsal (Slickers) 7:00 – 10:00 PM

Yeah, that day’s shot. Next.

Wednesday, December 1
Work 9:30 – 6:00
Dress Rehearsal (Slickers) 6:00 – 10:00 PM (?)

Another day blown.

Thursday, December 2
Work 9:30 – 6:00

What’s this? Nothing to do after work? Hmmmm.. If I’m not dead from exhaustion already, I might be able to do something on this night. See how well you’re helping me? What a great pal you are.

Friday, December 3
Work 9:30 – 6:00
Show (Slickers) 6:00 call in Oak Park. Show starts at 8PM. Runs til 11PM.

Notice how my work end times and my show/rehearsal call times overlap. Acrobatics and a bit of magic, my dear readers.

Saturday, December 4
Show (Slickers) 3:00 call. (Luckily this is just blocks away from my house. Thank God for small miracles.) Showtime 5:00. SECOND SHOW 8:00 PM. Done by 11:00 PM.
Party (Slickers) after show.

Yeah this day’s shot too. But wait, the week’s not over yet.

Sunday, December 5
Rehearsal (CGMC) 2:00 Call. Break 5:00. Start up again 6:00. Done by 9:00 PM.

And the madness begins yet again.

Monday, December 6
Work 11:30 – 8:00 PM

A free night! Whoo hoo! What to do!? Where to go? Who to see? Oh yeah.. Clean.. shop… decorate… continue on….

Tuesday, December 7
Work 9:30 – 6:00
Rehearsal (Slickers) 7:00 – 10:00 PM

In a perfect world, I’d have this night off, since that concert is already past. But no. I still have two more shows with this group. Read on.

Wednesday, December 8
Work 9:30 – 6:00
Tech Rehearsal (CGMC) 6:00 – 11:00 PM

Thursday, December 9
Work 9:30 – 6:00
Dress Rehearsal (CGMC) 6:00 – 11:00 PM

Friday, December 10
Work 9:30 – 6:00
Show (CGMC) 6:00 Call; 8:00 Curtain, runs til about 11:00 PM
Party afterward somewhere.

Saturday, December 11
Show (CGMC) 3:00 Call; 5:00 Curtain, runs til about 7:00; Dinner break; 7:45 Call; 8:30 Curtain, runs til about 11:30 PM
Cast Party afterward somewhere.

Sunday, December 12 (my birthday)
You’d think I’d get my birthday off, right? Ha!
Tech Rehearsal (Slickers) 4:00 – 6:00 PM
This is for our cabaret show, one of which is happening on Tuesday, the other on the following Sunday. I begged. I pleaded. I absolutely threw myself down at the mercy of the group to have this on another day. Nobody would budge. Thanks, guys.

Monday, December 13
Work 11:30 – 8:00

I ain’t doing shit tonight.

Tuesday, December 14
Work 9:00 – 6:00
Show (Slickers) 5:30 Call (yeah we’ll see how that goes); 8:00 Show – Done by 10 PM at the latest.

Wednesday, December 15
Work 9:00 – 6:00

Crunch time… gotta get all the shopping done now!

Thursday, December 16
Work 9:00 – 6:00

Last-minute cleaning… more shopping?

Friday, December 17 – PARTY DAY
No work (I took the day off.)
Party starts at 8:00 PM

Hell, if I ain’t ready by now, fuck it.

Saturday, December 18
A day of rest. Oh. My. GOD.

Sunday, December 19
ONE MORE FUCKING SHOW!
Show (Slickers) 5:30 Call; 8:00 Show – Done by 10 PM at the latest.

Monday, December 20
I drop dead of exhaustion if I haven’t already.

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Holiday Blues Already

Comments are closed.